The 101 on Disney Fastpass Tiers

There have been rumblings of changes in the midst for the Disney Fastpass tier system at Disney’s Hollywood Studios. Selfishly, I would love to keep with the current tier system because it make riding our favorite rides, so much easier, unfortunately, it is time to put it to rest. If you are reading this and it all sounds like gibberish, then let’s get back to the basics.

What is a tier? 

Walt Disney World is made up of 4 parks; Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studios, and Animal Kingdom. In 3 of those parks; Epcot, Hollywood Studios, and Animal Kingdom, Fastpasses are separated by 2 tiers. As of now, Magic Kingdom does not have tiers.  As you can imagine, Disney had to do this to keep the lines flowing and the guests feeling like they’ve gotten a full day of their must-do attractions. Tier 1 rides are made of up the more popular attractions, and tier 2 attractions are the least popular.

What does this mean for booking Fastpass reservations? 

When you book your Fastpass+ reservations, you are allowed a total of 3 Fastpass reservations at a time. Within those 3 passes, only 1 of them can be a tier 1 attraction, the other 2 reservations will have to be tier 2.

Is there anything else I need to know? 

YES! Within those tiers, there are priorities. We’ve done the research and we know what you should book and in what order. For example, if you are going to Epcot, we have Top Priority Tier 1 and 2. We would recommend you book Soarin’ as one of your first choices and then pick either Spaceship Earth and Turtle Talk with Crush as your other two. Of course, we have several different variables we give to our clients but that is just one of them.

Is there a method to the madness? 

YES! We’ve done a ton of research and we have a detailed list we give to our clients only. This list includes the following…

  • All Four Parks
  • Priorities in Order
  • Tiers with Height Requirements